You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

Announcement – Faculty of Native Studies

by ahnationtalk on August 12, 2015628 Views

I am writing to advise that Dr. Brendan Hokowhitu has resigned his position as Dean of the Faculty of Native Studies, effective January 4, 2016, to become the Dean of Te Pua Wānanga ki te Ao, the School of Māori and Pacific Development at the University of Waikato in Hamilton, New Zealand.

Dr. Hokowhitu joined the University of Alberta as Dean of the Faculty of Native Studies on July 1, 2012. During his tenure as Dean, Dr. Hokowhitu has focused on increasing undergraduate and graduate enrolment in the Faculty and led the development of an Indigenous Studies Doctoral Program proposal. He provided effective leadership working across the University to engage with other Faculties, such as the Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation and the Alberta School of Business, to develop initiatives such as the Indigenous Partnership Development Program with Executive Education, launched in 2015. Dr. Hokowhitu has also led online programming in Native Studies, initiating the Indigenous Canada MOOC and the Master of Arts in Native Studies online.

I would like to thank Dr. Hokowhitu for his leadership and service to the University and wish him well in his new position at the University of Waikato.

I am pleased to advise that Dr. Chris Andersen has agreed to serve as Interim Dean for the period of
January 4, 2016 to June 30, 2017, or until such time as a new Dean is appointed. Dr. Andersen is a Professor of Native Studies, and has served as the Associate Dean (Research) from July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2014. I am confident that the Faculty and University community will experience a smooth transition. I know you will join me in welcoming Dr. Andersen to his new role.

The search for a new dean will be conducted in the 2016-17 academic year.


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More