Alberta’s new Cabinet focused on jobs, economic growth and diversification

    You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

Alberta’s new Cabinet focused on jobs, economic growth and diversification

by ahnationtalk on February 2, 2016414 Views

Six new members were sworn in to Alberta’s Cabinet on February 2, better equipping it to implement a robust policy agenda aimed at economic growth and diversification, while continuing to reflect Alberta’s diversity and gender balance.

“Together, our new Cabinet team will deliver on the government’s plans to create jobs, diversify the economy during difficult times and put our province in the best position possible for future growth.”
Rachel Notley, Premier

Highlights of changes

  • Sarah Hoffman becomes Deputy Premier, while continuing to serve as Minister of Health.
  • Five new ministers and one new associate minister have been named. This allows for a more evenly shared workload, with most ministers now responsible for a single portfolio.
  • Alberta’s Cabinet is still smaller than any previous Cabinet in the province over the past decade, and remains the smallest in western Canada.
  • The department of Jobs, Skills, Training and Labour is renamed Labour.
  • The department of Aboriginal Relations is renamed Indigenous Relations, reflecting the preference of Indigenous communities.
  • The Minister of Labour will also be responsible for democratic renewal.
  • Oneil Carlier becomes Deputy House Leader. Deron Bilous also continues to serve as Deputy House Leader.

The Premier also announced the creation of the Alberta Climate Change Office, which will report to Environment and Parks Minister Shannon Phillips. It will assist in the implementation of Alberta’s Climate Leadership Plan, which will support green research and infrastructure, economic diversification and renewable energy.

Alberta Cabinet in order of precedence

Rachel Anne Notley Premier of Alberta
President of Executive Council
Sarah Marjorie Hoffman Deputy Premier
Minister of Health
Brian Mason Minister of Infrastructure
Minister of Transportation
Government House Leader
David Manson Eggen Minister of Education
Deron Michael Bilous Minister of Economic Development and Trade
Deputy Government House Leader
Joseph Anthony Ceci President of Treasury Board and Minister of Finance
Kathleen Teresa Ganley Minister of Justice and Solicitor General
Shannon Phillips Minister of Environment and Parks
Minister Responsible for the Climate Change Office
Oneil John Carlier Minister of Agriculture and Forestry
Deputy Government House Leader
Danielle Marie Larivee Minister of Municipal Affairs
Margaret Ellen McCuaig-Boyd Minister of Energy
Irfan Sabir Minister of Human Services
Lori Dawn Sigurdson Minister of Seniors and Housing
Richard John Feehan Minister of Indigenous Relations
Christina Gray Minister of Labour
Minister Responsible for Democratic Renewal
Stephanie Veronica McLean Minister of Service Alberta
Minister of Status of Women
Ricardo Miranda Minister of Culture and Tourism
Marlin Robert Schmidt Minister of Advanced Education
Brandy Lynn Payne Associate Minister of Health


Climate Change Office and Democratic Renewal

Climate Change Office

The Government of Alberta released its Climate Leadership Plan in November 2015. To facilitate implementation of the plan, the government will establish a Climate Change Office, which will report to Environment and Parks Minister Shannon Phillips.

The Climate Leadership Plan affects many government programs and initiatives. To ensure effective co-ordination of all aspects of implementation, the Climate Change Office will lead a “whole of government” approach as it works with ministries and agencies.

The implementation of the Climate Leadership Plan will reduce Alberta’s greenhouse gas emissions and contribute to long-term diversification of the Alberta economy.

Democratic Renewal

To support the Government of Alberta in responding to forthcoming recommendations of the Select Special Ethics and Accountability Committee, Premier Rachel Notley has appointed Christina Gray as Minister Responsible for Democratic Renewal.

On June 25, 2015, a motion was passed in the Legislative Assembly to create the all-party committee consisting of 17 Members of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta.

The committee was appointed to review the Election Act, the Election Finances and Contributions Disclosure Act, the Conflicts of Interest Act, and the Public Interest Disclosure (Whistleblower Protection) Act. It will report to the Assembly by June 2016.

Minister Gray will have the mandate to review the committee’s recommendations and bring forward options for amending legislation and/or changing government policy.

Media inquiries

Cheryl Oates
Media Relations, Office of the Premier


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More